We all love mayonnaise but have you ever wondered to yourself, “does mayo have dairy”? Mayo is mostly made of egg yolk, oil, and vinegar or lemon juice. Mayo is not included in dairy products as it usually doesn’t have any milk products.
Some store-bought mayonnaise does have dairy products in them. Dairy mayonnaise is that mayo that is made from some kind of milk.
Mayonnaise is popular with pretty much anything; you can use it in salads, you can use it in sandwiches, and you can also use it in other dishes as well.
Let’s look into the details about mayo and all of its’ different types.
What is Mayo and Does Mayo Have Dairy?
Mayonnaise is a creamy sauce that has a salty yet sweet taste to it. Mayo originated in France way back in 1756 by a chef called “Duke de Richelieu.” It has since come a long way and is now popular all over the world.
Mayonnaise is used in a variety of foods, from salad dressing to Italian dressing, sandwiches, burgers, and many other foods. Mayo is now considered one of the most commonly used sauces in the world. If some of you still have concerns such as “does mayo have dairy,” then rest assured because classic mayo doesn’t have any dairy content.
What is Mayo Made of?
Generally speaking, mayo ingredients include:
- Egg Yolk.
- Vinegar or lemon juice.
This is the base minimum requirement of making mayonnaise to get its natural flavor, but it doesn’t just end here. A lot of commercial mayonnaise companies use other products as well, such as milk products, spices, flavored oil, and different kinds of vinegar.
This is the reason why homemade mayonnaise tastes different from store-bought mayo. Different mayonnaise brands have different tastes because they use different ingredients, such as different kinds of vinegar.
Commercial mayo brands use different ingredients. For example, one might use white vinegar, while the other may use Balsamic vinegar.
Is Mayo Dairy?
Classic mayo is made from three simple ingredients, and these are egg yolks, white vinegar or normal vinegar, and oil.
Therefore it is proven that it doesn’t have any dairy in it. Any product derived from milk such as cheese, cream, and butter is classified as dairy content. Many people still wonder whether mayonnaise is considered a dairy product, but it has been proven that it doesn’t contain any dairy.
Mayo doesn’t have any dairy ingredients, but you should note that some companies do add dairy to their mayonnaise to give it an extra creamy texture.
Keep in mind that some restaurants use dairy-based mayonnaise in their dishes. For example, ranch dressing includes dairy mayo.
Can Lactose Intolerant People Have Mayonnaise?
A lactose intolerant person might ask, “does mayo have dairy?” and they should because eating any dairy content can cause them to have a dairy allergy.
Mayonnaise doesn’t naturally contain any dairy content, but in this day and age, we can never be sure as almost everything has artificial ingredients to enhance the taste.
Some commercial brands add dairy content such as milk and cream to enhance the natural flavor of the mayonnaise to make it unique and tastier.
As a lactose intolerant person, you should always read the ingredient label of your mayo to make sure it doesn’t include any dairy content.
If the food label includes any words such as milk, cheese, or butter, it means your mayo contains dairy, and you should avoid it if you are lactose intolerant.
Mayo Products Without Dairy
Here are some of the mayonnaise that doesn’t contain any dairy in them:
- Hellman’s Real Mayonnaise.
- Hellman’s Organic Mayonnaise.
- Miracle Whip.
- Whole food 365 Mayonnaise.
Does mayo have dairy? No, it doesn’t, but it’s not vegan.
Note that while mayo doesn’t contain any dairy products, it still doesn’t mean it is fully vegan as it contains egg yolks. If you are trying to go vegan, then you need to stay away from normal mayonnaise.
Vegan mayonnaise is made from either soy milk, almond milk, or rice milk, along with vinegar and lemon juice. While calcium in dairy milk is more than calcium in either of the above milk, such as soy milk, they are a good enough substitute for regular milk as sources of calcium.
While you can get nutrition from milk, soy milk is also a great substitute.
Also, keep in mind that normal mayo may have a thicker texture as compared to a vegan mayo, but it doesn’t mean vegan mayo is any less tasty or have a less rich flavor.
Vegan mayo is made from organic vinegar. Other types of vinegar, such as apple cider vinegar, are also used to give it a unique taste.
Vegan Mayo Products
Followings are some of the vegan mayonnaise that you can find at your local market:
- Hellmann’s Vegan Mayonnaise.
- Original Mindful Dressing & Sandwich Spread.
- Plant Perfect, Vegan Mayonnaise.
- Avocado Oil Mayonnaise by Primal Kitchen.
FAQs Regarding Does Mayo Have Dairy
There are some common questions regarding the inclusion of any dairy content in mayonnaise, so we’ve gone ahead and made a simple list to assist readers.
Is There Vegan Mayonnaise?
Vegan mayonnaise does exist, and they are eggless mayonnaise.
Eggless mayonnaise is made from soy milk, vinegar, and lemon juice, although the exact ingredients can differ depending on the chef. For example, some might use avocado oil, while others might use normal oil. While you can use almond milk, soy milk is better as it gives a better texture and acts as a good source of calcium. If you want to know the exact details of how it works, you can check out the recipe here.
What is Hellman’s Mayonnaise?
Hellman’s real mayonnaise is one of the best and most sold mayonnaise in the US. It is the classic version of mayonnaise, which includes egg yolks, oil, vinegar, and no other ingredients.
Can I Eat Mayonnaise if I am Lactose Intolerant?
You can eat mayonnaise without worry if you are lactose intolerant because normal mayonnaise does not contain any dairy content. Make sure your mayonnaise is dairy-free by reading the food label, as some companies use dairy content in their mayo.
You can also opt for vegan mayo if you are on a dairy-free diet since lactose intolerance makes milk products difficult for digestion.
Final words on “Does mayo have mayo”
Does mayo have dairy? No, it doesn’t, as mayo is made of egg yolks, oil, and vinegar. These three are the base ingredients that go into making mayonnaise.
Some people and manufacturers use additional ingredients when making mayo, such as salt and sugar, different types of vinegar or lemon juice, and different kinds of oil such as avocado oil.
Dairy products are not normally used in mayo, but some commercial brands do use them, but you should always check if you are following a dairy-free diet.
Make sure you always check the food label of the mayo you are buying at a market to make sure it isn’t milk mayonnaise if you are lactose intolerant.
If you consume milk mayonnaise as lactose intolerant, it can cause food allergy since lactose will be difficult for you to digest.
We all love mayonnaise-based dressings of salads, and now you know each and everything about mayo, whether you have lactose intolerance or are going vegan.